Documentation RSS feed for this section

Using Google Nearline with Syncovery

We have tested Google Nearline with Syncovery, and yes, it can be used. Here’s how to make it work.

Choose Amazon S3 as protocol, and specify your bucket like this:

bucketname@storage.googleapis.com

You can get your Access ID and Secret Key via the Interoperability tab sheet of the Cloud Storage Settings page
https://console.cloud.google.com/storage/settings

Please don’t choose unsupported features like Reduced Redundancy, as they will cause errors.

See also
https://cloud.google.com/storage/docs/migrating

Amazon Cloud Drive for Linux


Using our commercial software product SyncoveryCL, you can back up to (or sync with) Amazon Cloud Drive on any Linux machine, including servers that do not have a GUI.

You can download the free trial version on our Linux Download page.

Here’s a few sample command lines you will want to use:

Create the job to upload to Amazon Cloud Drive:
SyncoveryCL ADD /LEFT="/home/tobias/Documents/" /RIGHT="ext://OptionalAcctID@ACD/Documents" /RProt=ACD /L2R /EXCL=.* /NAME=ACDTest

Run the job:
SyncoveryCL /RUN=ACDTest

For more details and other command line options, please see the Linux download page.

Using Multiple Accounts With Same Cloud Storage


When you create several profiles using the same cloud storage, you will notice that they automatically connect to the same account. This affects OAuth cloud storage such as Google Drive, OneDrive, DropBox etc.

However, it is also possible to use different accounts for different profiles.

Each cloud account needs to be identified on the Internet Protocol Settings dialog, using the Account (opt.) field. You could enter the email addresses there or anything else. What you enter does not directly mean anything, it is just a name under which the cloud authentication tokens are saved.

Then when you click the Browse button, an Internet Browser window will appear, asking you to authenticate the user. On this screen, the previous user may appear, so you need to click “Not me” or something like that in order to log the previous user out and log the new one in.

If a profile should be associated with a different account, just change the Account ID to something else, and you will have the chance to re-authenticate it.

If you want to completely re-assign your jobs, you can use the button “Forget Cloud Access Tokens” on the Program Settings dialog, tab sheet “Cloud”.

Google Docs protocol completely replaced with Google Drive

In May 2015, the older Google Docs API was shut down by Google, and it can no longer be used. It has been completely replaced with the newer Google Drive protocol.

To handle the situation, the new versions 7.17 and 7.20 beta 15 of Syncovery have been releaed. The Google Drive protocol can now fulfill all tasks that the obsolete Google Docs protocol could.

The main feature that had been missing before these updates was the conversion of native Google documents. This is now available, so that all existing tasks can be performed with the new Google Drive API.

Previous Google Docs jobs will automatically use document conversion where chosen. New jobs, and existing Google Drive jobs, need to have document conversion enabled if desired. The checkmark is on the second tab sheet of the Internet dialog. Note that the available file types for conversion have been updated on the Google Docs tab sheet.

Once a profile is switched over to the new Google Drive protocol, you will have to authenticate Syncovery in a browser window. The prompt will appear if you run the job manually in attended mode.

If you need to use several different user accounts in different profiles, this is entirely possible! Just make sure that each profile has a different Account ID shown on the Internet dialog. When the authentication page appears, make sure you log out of the current Google account and log back in with the next account and authorize Syncovery.

If you need to re-do the authentication, you can click the button “Forget cloud access tokens” on the Program Settings dialog, tab sheet “Cloud”.

Note that your Google accounts must “Allow users to install Google Drive apps”.

Locking the log file location


You can specify a folder for the log files on the Program Settings dialog. However, if at any time Syncovery cannot create a log file in the folder, it will switch to a user-specific folder. Some customers have reported that the log folder location changes against their wish. To freeze the location, add the following line in the [Main] section of the INI file:

LockLogFolder=1

This article applies only to the Windows version of Syncovery.

Rsync and Syncovery

Syncovery supports the Rsync protocol by using an rsync.exe command line utility. Here’s how to set it up:

On the Program Settings dialog, you need to specify which rsync.exe to use. There’s also a button to download an rsync for Windows installer.

In the profile, you click on the Internet button for one of the two sides of the sync. Choose Rsync as protocol. You can securely connect via SSH or use rsync directly (unsecured). The unsecured connection can be used within a LAN or VPN, for example.

When using it via SSH, you need to have a client certificate and configure it on the Certificates tab sheet, as well as choose it on the Security tab sheet.

Because of limitations of the rsync.exe command line, some features are not working. For example, Syncovery cannot delete any files via rsync.

Because of rsync limitations, it is often better to use SFTP/SSH. It can do block level copying, too, and also it can get a recursive listing similar to rsync (on Unix/Linux servers). The recursive listing checkmark is on the second tab sheet of the Internet/FTP dialog.

Please see the following page for details about block level copying with SFTP:
Block Level Copying

The limitation with block level copying and SFTP is currently that it does block level for uploads only.

Syncovery 7 Released

The new version 7 is available for Mac and Windows!

For more info, please see www.syncovery.com/syncovery7/.

OpenSSL update for Amazon S3 for Super Flexible v5.73

Some time in 2013, the OpenSSL libraries shipped with the older version 5.73 of Super Flexible File Synchronizer stopped working because of changes on the Amazon servers.

You will get SOCKET ERRORS with version 5.73.

To fix them, you can either install version 6 or replace the OpenSSL DLLs in the program folder with these updated ones:

https://www.syncovery.com/release/openssl.zip

Unzip the file and copy the DLLs to C:\Program Files (x86)\SuperFlexible or C:\Program Files\SuperFlexible on 32-bit systems.

DropBox, Google Drive, Box.net, OneDrive, Rackspace All Supported

The latest Windows version 6.55 supports these new cloud services:

DropBox, Google Drive, Box.net, OneDrive, Rackspace

Services we have been supporting for a longer while include:
Amazon S3, Amazon Glacier, Microsoft Azure, Google Docs

In addition, any cloud service that can be accessed via WebDAV, FTP, or SSH/SFTP can be used.

Google Drive is essentially a replacement for Google Docs. It will basically see the same files, so you could simply switch an existing profile over from Google Docs to Google Drive. However, there are differences regarding native Google Docs documents and document conversions. Google Drive has no conversion options. An advantage of Google Drive is that it can retain the Last Modified timestamps of files that you upload with Syncovery. Google Drive also implements the choice of using the Recycle Bin for deleted files or not.

Because Google Drive works differently with converted documents, it may not be able to replace the Google Docs API in some cases. Both options are still available in the protocol selection. When you switch protocols, please check if everything works correctly with manual runs of your jobs before automating them.

Licenses are perpetual – software updates free for two years.

FAQ: is the Syncovery license perpetual or per year?

It is a perpetual license. There are no yearly recurring fees. You can also use the registration code again after replacing a computer, without any additional fees. When replacing a computer, simply uninstall the software and use your registration code again on the new one.

Updates and upgrades of the software are included for two years. After that, you can still use the last version you got, or if you decide to upgrade to the newer version that we may be offering, 50% of your original payment will be credited against the new order, so in most cases, the new licenses costs 50% of the regular price.