How can I synchronize file deletions?

Important note for all sync modes regarding deletions: if you want to run the profile in unattended mode, for example by running the scheduler, then you need to also give it explicit permission to delete the files. To do so, please edit the profile in Advanced Mode, go to the Safety->Unattended tab sheet and make sure that deletions are enabled. You may also want to remove the last checkmark, “Enable Special Safety Warnings”, because these can prevent deletions from being carried out.

  • If one side is always the “model” and the other side is always the “mirror”, i.e. you are copying only in one direction, then you can use Exact Mirror mode to synchronize deletions.

  • If you are working on both sides, and copying files in both directions, then you must use SmartTracking to detect and handle file deletions.

    When you choose it, you will see a separate dialog with a few options where you can specify how certain situations should be handled. SmartTracking can recognize these situations by keeping a database and comparing the current state of your folders with the last state stored in the database.

    You can set it to move the file into a folder for deleted files whenever it recognizes a deletion. This works similar to a recycle bin. It won’t physically delete the file for safety reasons. You need to choose a folder for deleted files (one for each side of the sync). This folder should by outside of the hierarchy that you are syncing.

    For SmartTracking to work, you always need to use the same profile for syncing the same folders, because the database is specific to each profile, and the program must use the same database always. In addition, you need to start the profile on the same computer each time.

    Deletions will be recognized starting with the second synchronization after you turn on SmartTracking. During the first run, the database is built.

  • Note that the Real-Time mode (when using “Process Each File Event Individually”) has its own setting for deletions. On the other hand, when you are using the real-time mode “Process Complete Folders”, then deletions are carried out according to the paragraphs above.

    To enable deletions to work in real time individual event mode, please edit the profile in Advanced Mode. Go to the “Schedule” settings category and to the Monitoring/Real-Time tab sheet. Click on the checkmark “Real-Time Synchronization”. A dialog will pop up where you need to make sure that the checkmark “Process deletions when running in real-time” is chosen, and that the Safety Delay matches your requirements. Many users will just want to set it to 0.