Cloud sync copies all files over and over again

English Support for Cloud Storage
Post Reply
Knarf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 5:47 am

Cloud sync copies all files over and over again

Post by Knarf »

Hello,
I've created a job whereby a local folder needs to be synced with a folder on Stack cloud via sftp.
Only from left to right.
All files get copied every time not just the new ones on the left.
Is there any way how to avoid that?
tnx
frank

tobias
Posts: 320
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:37 pm

Re: Cloud sync copies all files over and over again

Post by tobias »

By default, Syncovery copies only new or changed files.

If it re-copies files, then something is wrong and we need to find the cause.

Possible causes include:
a) the timestamps of the uploaded files are incorrect.
Either there is a timezone offset which needs to be fixed, or the server does not allow retaining timestamps at all.
You can find out by running the job in Attended Mode and looking at the Sync Preview and comparing the file details on both sides.

b) Syncovery does not see the uploaded files.
This can happen if there is a listing problem. But with SFTP, that is rare.

c) there are incorrect profile settings.
You could try creating a new profile from scratch, or send a log file to support@syncovery.com and we will take a look at your settings.

Once you know more about the cause, I will help with additional assistance in solving the problem!

Maybe you can post a screenshot of the Sync Preview where some of the file details can be seen, or send to our support email address.

tobias
Posts: 320
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:37 pm

Re: Cloud sync copies all files over and over again

Post by tobias »

I have been in contact with the original poster thru our support email address.

Apparently the listing via SFTP just doesn't work with this server.

In that case, there are two possible solutions:

You can use "Cache Destination File List" or the archive flag filters to avoid re-copying files.

The cache option is on the Special tab sheet. On the dialog that pops up, use only the topmost checkmark.

The archive flags are on the General Filters tab sheet. You would need both checkmarks.

Post Reply