root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

English Support for Cloud Storage
Post Reply
m.sebastian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2024 4:03 pm

root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

Post by m.sebastian »

Hi,

I'm using a OneDrive-to-local-disk sync with 3 different MS-Home accounts.
Since about 3 weeks a root-folder suddenly appeared in 2 of the accounts in the sync, with subfolders containing nearly the same structure.
When this folder appeared, neither the OneDrive-account nor Syncovery had been touched.
This "root" folder is not visible within the OneDrive itself, also not in the online-version.

Can someone please give me a hint how to solve this problem?

Thank you in advance.

Regards
Markus
Attachments
Syncovery1.JPG
Syncovery1.JPG (44.05 KiB) Viewed 3432 times
Syncovery2.JPG
Syncovery2.JPG (123.28 KiB) Viewed 3432 times

tobias
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:37 pm

Re: root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

Post by tobias »

Hello,
that is hugely interesting! Please delete the cloud cache database from the folder

C:\ProgramData\Syncovery\Database

I hope this will fix it.

m.sebastian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2024 4:03 pm

Re: root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

Post by m.sebastian »

Hi Tobias,

that did the trick, the root-folder is gone.

But still problems on one account, some folders cannot be accessed.
Those folders definately exist in OneDrive and I can access them (via the client and also online for sure).

Thank you for your help!

Markus

Syncovery version is 10.14.2 (64-bit)
Attachments
OD1.JPG
OD1.JPG (14.74 KiB) Viewed 3386 times

tobias
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:37 pm

Re: root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

Post by tobias »

Hello,
this could be difficult to solve, can you send a complete log file to support@syncovery.com please?

Thanks.

m.sebastian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2024 4:03 pm

Re: root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

Post by m.sebastian »

Hi Tobias,

sent you the log.
Thank you.

Markus

m.sebastian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2024 4:03 pm

Re: root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

Post by m.sebastian »

Hi Tobias,

unfortunately the root-folder on both profiles is back.
As long as I delete the cloud cache database before starting the job manually, the root-folder won't appear.
When the jobs run automatically, the root-folder is coming up.
It makes no sense to exclude it, because it has a lot of files/folders in it.

Maybe there's a chance to get this problem fixed?

Thank you in advance.

Regards
Markus

tobias
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:37 pm

Re: root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

Post by tobias »

Hello,
no, the root folder is a new feature of the OneDrive API.

If you don't like it, you can type
root
in the Exclusion Masks.

m.sebastian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2024 4:03 pm

Re: root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

Post by m.sebastian »

Hi Tobias,

the thing is, that this root-folder contains a large amount of files and folders (I didn't put it in), so if I do not exclude it in the syncovery-job, I nearly have double the amount of storage space used for it with many duplicate files and folders.

If I exclude it in the way you mentioned above, some folders on the onedrive are not accessible within the syncovery-job and I get an error.

But the curious thing is, that if I delete the syncovery database-cache before running the job, the root-folder will not appear and everything is running without any errors. So that looks more like a syncovery-bug to me.

Do you have any information on this new "feature", cannot find anything about it on the web.

Thank you so mch for your effort!

Regards
Markus

tobias
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:37 pm

Re: root-folder suddenly appears in OneDrive Sync

Post by tobias »

Hello,
I do not have any additional information. The new folder is simply reported by the API. I think it allows you do access some special folders which were previously not accessible.

Excluding it should not cause any errors. To ensure that it's only excluded on the top level, you can actually put this Exclusion into the Exclusion Masks:
/root

If there are errors, please send log files with errors to support@syncovery.com.

Post Reply