Strange behavior of Smart Tracking mode in combination with "Flat Right Side (no folders)"

English Support for Syncovery on Windows.
Silicon

Strange behavior of Smart Tracking mode in combination with "Flat Right Side (no folders)"

Post by Silicon »

Hi
First of all, let me thank Syncovery developers for a great product! I have been using it with satisfaction for more than 6 years.

Today I have identified a strange behavior of Smart Tracking mode in combination with "Flat Right Side (no folders)".
Let me describe what I need to achieve:
- we're using file delivery system Aspera Faspex (its upload to Dropbox feature) to deliver materials from field to central bureau
- Aspera stores delivered files under following directory structure: /%dropbox_root_folder%/%aspera_transfer_unique_id%.aspera-package/PKG/
- I need to copy delivered files from Aspera storage (left side) to production storage (right side), where the files can be freely moved, renamed or even deleted by the target users … therefore I’m using the “Smart Tracking” mode with Detection of Moved Files set to Off and Detection of Deleted Files set to Ignore
- It was working as expected - i.e. all files including original directory structure were synced from left to right once and any subsequent changes on right side were ignored
- but when I enabled "Flat Right Side (no folders)" option in Profile Settings - Folders menu, the Smart Tracking mode started to behave as Copy mode – i.e. whenever the file on right side gets renamed or deleted, Syncovery copies the original file from left side again

I consider it as a bug. What do you think?

BR,
Silicon

tobias

Re: Strange behavior of Smart Tracking mode in combination with "Flat Right Side (no folders)"

Post by tobias »

Hello,
SmartTracking is not really meant to be combined with "Flat Right Side". I'm not sure if this combination was ever tested.

However it might be possible to enable it. Did you test it with the latest version 9.46?

Silicon